Concord Resident Arrested For Arson in Contra Costa County (CA Penal Code §451)

Rabin Nabizadeh
May 20, 2013

Concord resident, Julie Tenpenny (48) was arrested this month on suspicion of starting a grass fire in Martinez. It seems that Tenpenny used a lighter to set small fires near Alhambra Hills Drive.  Law enforcement officials say that they received phoned-in tips about the woman starting as early as 5pm on Sunday evening.  When they went to investigate, they found Tenpenny – uncooperative and seemingly under the influence of drugs.  Why she started the small fires, which did require the Contra Costa County Fire Department to drop some water from their helicopters in order to extinguish the minor blaze, is still a mystery.  Because Tenpenny refused to cooperate – even getting into a struggle with the arresting officers – she was charged with both arson and being under the influence of drugs.

In the state of California, there are two sections of the Penal Code that could apply to cases such as Tenpenny’s: arson (CA Penal Code §451) and “reckless burning (CA Penal Code §452).  There is a significant difference between these two charges: arson is done intentionally, whereas reckless burning may occur when, for example, someone accidentally causes a fire after dropping a lit cigarette.  Tenpenny has been charged with arson because the police suspect that she was purposefully using a lighter to set the small fires.  Bail in this case has been set at $75,000 and this indicates that Tenpenny has most likely been charged with felony arson.  The crime of arson is taken so seriously in California that there are even special “fire investigators” who act as part of a larger task force to solve crimes of this nature. Being charged with either arson or reckless burning does not depend upon whether or not damage was done to persons or to property. In Tenpenny’s case, no real damage was done and the fire was quickly stifled.  However, if prosecutors can prove that she purposefully and “maliciously” set the hilly area on fire, she can still be subjected to psychological evaluation before sentencing and may spend anywhere from 3 to 9 years in state prison and pay up to $60,000 in fines.

latest news

October 5, 2022
9 Steps in a Criminal Defense Case

If you’re in a situation where you are facing criminal charges, the criminal process can be confusing. The justice system has specific steps they follow. Whether federal or state, the prosecuting attorney has the challenge of proving guilt beyond a reasonable doubt. That means obtaining an attorney from a reputable law firm that understands the […]

October 5, 2022
How Much Is a DUI in California?

A little night out with your friends is fine. A little sip of party bourbon won’t cause anyone any trouble. However, when all that little moments of sipping drinks add up, it could end up in a disaster. Dealing with a DUI conviction is not easy, and it could even cost you thousands of penalty […]

October 4, 2022
When Is It Considered Domestic Violence

Domestic violence is the attempt to gain power over and control another human within the household through a wide range of abusive behavior. Domestic violence can happen to anyone, regardless of race, sex, sexual orientation, class, education, etc. It often involves physical abuse, and other types of abuse as well. Abusive relationships are too common, […]