Massage Therapist Arrested for Sexual Battery in East Palo Alto (CA Penal Code 243.4)

Massage Therapist Arrested for Sexual Battery in East Palo Alto (CA Penal Code 243.4)

Rabin Nabizadeh
September 3, 2014

66-year-old massage therapist (name withheld for privacy), by all accounts, an asset to his community.  More like a shaman or healer than a massage therapist, he helped folks, not only with their muscular complaints, but also with other, minor, health issues such as infertility.  For 30 years, this man, self-identified as a “sobandero,” has worked to help his neighbors, but now he has been arrested on charges of sexual battery and for operating as an unlicensed massage therapist.

Not every state in the union requires massage therapists to be licensed, like Colorado.  There, anyone can hang up a shingle and begin practicing without ever having even attended an accredited massage therapy school or taken a board examination.  Other states, like California, require 250-500 or more hours of education from a California-approved school, passing grades on the MBLEx or NCETMB/NCETM (formal examinations), and (in some circumstances) additional county licensure. The California Massage Therapy Council even offers consumers a way to verify whether or not they are seeing a licensed practitioner (California Business and Professions Code 4600).

For people like him, however, practicing without a license can mean serious legal troubles.  Law enforcement officials have not released the details of his case, but it is more likely than not that a client is involved in these allegations of sexual battery (CA Penal Code 243.4), which includes behavior like touching another person’s intimate areas in order to become sexually aroused or to abuse them in some other way.  Though it is also likely that he successfully ran his business (though illegally) for 30 years, has been wrongly accused or that there is some misunderstanding afoot, he could face time in jail.  A misdemeanor sexual battery charge in California could mean up to 1 year in county jail and a $2,000 fine.  Felony sexual battery convictions carry with them up to 4 years in state prison and a $10,000 fine.  In any case, it is wise to follow the law when it comes to being licensed to practice massage therapy, not only for the protection of your clients and of your reputation, but also for your protection from potentially groundless accusations.

 

latest news

April 7, 2022
What Can I Expect After Being Arrested for a DUI in California?
A DUI charge is a severe criminal offense in California. DUI arrests take away a massive part of your driving privilege and could tarnish your reputation. Prior DUI convictions can inflict further damage to your career opportunities, driving rights, and immigration status. This blog will go over what you must expect when facing DUI charges. [...]
April 7, 2022
How Long Does a DUI Stay on Your Record in California?
DUI cases may stay on your criminal record forever. The United States sees DUI as a serious traffic crime punishable with grave penalties. Fighting your way through a DUI case is a challenging task. But, it doesn't mean you can't do anything about it. There are legal options available for you, depending on the nature [...]
April 6, 2022
Arrested for DUI in California: Am I Going to Lose My Job?
You've been charged with a DUI and have no idea what to do next. A lot of worries may run through your mind, including the fear of losing your job. Many aspects of a DUI charge can be overwhelming to a person, even to those familiar with California Law. In this blog, we will discuss [...]