Davis Priest Sentenced For Statutory Rape of Teen (CA Penal Code 261.5)

Davis Priest Sentenced For Statutory Rape of Teen (CA Penal Code 261.5)

Rabin Nabizadeh
June 27, 2014

46-year-old priest (name withheld in order to protect the privacy of the accused) as once a respected and loved priest in Davis, now he’s in the process of putting his life back together.  Not long ago, in May of this year, he was accused of having inappropriate sexual relations with a female teenager who was one of his trusting parishioners.  He was charged with 3 separate felony counts of statutory rape that the victim said happened in various places over about 8 months of time.  He has recently pled guilty to these charges and been sentence to 90 days in jail, a short sentence considering.

Statutory rape (CA Penal Code 261.5) is a very specific crime.  It’s unlike forcible rape in the sense that even if the sexual intercourse seems to be consensual, it is not considered so by law because of the younger person’s status as a minor (under the age of 18).  This is because it is assumed that a person under the age of 18 cannot make decisions as to the persons they will have sexual intercourse with, at least not the same way that an adult can.  Usually, there is some debate concerning statutory rape cases.  For example, if a 17-year-old girl is dating an 18-year-old teen and they have sexual intercourse, then that could also be considered statutory rape, even though there is little age difference between them.  If the parents get involved, the consequences for the person who is older could be dire.

People think differently about a man who is 46 dating a girl under the age of 18.  The law treats them differently as well.  Statutory rape is a ‘wobbler,’ meaning that it is up to prosecutors to determine, under the specific circumstances of the case, whether to charge the accused with a misdemeanor or a felony.  The age of the accused is a significant factor, if the accused is under the age of 21, then they will usually be charged with a misdemeanor.  However, if the accused is over the age of 21 and the minor in question is 16 years of age or younger, then they may end up serving up to 4 years in state prison.  Conviction on charges of felony statutory rape could also end in a $10,000 fine.

 

latest news

April 7, 2022
What Can I Expect After Being Arrested for a DUI in California?
A DUI charge is a severe criminal offense in California. DUI arrests take away a massive part of your driving privilege and could tarnish your reputation. Prior DUI convictions can inflict further damage to your career opportunities, driving rights, and immigration status. This blog will go over what you must expect when facing DUI charges. [...]
April 7, 2022
How Long Does a DUI Stay on Your Record in California?
DUI cases may stay on your criminal record forever. The United States sees DUI as a serious traffic crime punishable with grave penalties. Fighting your way through a DUI case is a challenging task. But, it doesn't mean you can't do anything about it. There are legal options available for you, depending on the nature [...]
April 6, 2022
Arrested for DUI in California: Am I Going to Lose My Job?
You've been charged with a DUI and have no idea what to do next. A lot of worries may run through your mind, including the fear of losing your job. Many aspects of a DUI charge can be overwhelming to a person, even to those familiar with California Law. In this blog, we will discuss [...]