Track Coach at Novato High School Accused of Sex with Teen (CA Penal Code 261.5)

Track Coach at Novato High School Accused of Sex with Teen (CA Penal Code 261.5)

Rabin Nabizadeh
July 2, 2015

A 17-year-old recent graduate of Novato High School has accused her track and field coach (64) of having had a sexual relationship with her whilst she was in school.  This case came to the attention of local law enforcement officials due to sexual text messages that the alleged victim’s mother found on her daughter’s cellular phone.  The accused has been arrested on charges of statutory rape and on several different charges, including sexual penetration of a minor, oral copulation with a minor, communicating with a minor child for the express purpose of committing a sex offense, arranging a meeting with a minor for sexual purposes, and actually meeting with a minor with the intent of having sexual relations.

California Penal Code 261.5 addresses the crime of illegal sexual intercourse with a person under the age of 18, more commonly referred to as ‘statutory rape.’  This violation of the law is said to be committed when an adult (someone over the age of 18) engages in any type of sexual intercourse with a person under the age of 18.  There need not be any force involved in ‘statutory rape,’ there need only be the actual sex act in order for prosecutors to successfully convict.  Even minors can be charged with statutory rape, though this is not often done.  What this means is that anyone who is the sexual partner of a person under the age of 18 who has sexual intercourse could be charged with rape, even though the sex was entirely consensual.

In California, a conviction for statutory rape comes with dire consequences.  It is, in fact, a ‘wobbler,’ meaning that prosecutors assigned to the case must determine whether they will pursue the case as a misdemeanor or a felony.  Usually, the age difference between the minor and the adult involved is the key determining factor, the smaller the age difference, the less chance there is of being charged with a felony.  However, in situations in which the alleged offender is at least 21 years old (3 years older than the supposed victim), there is a great likelihood that he or she will spend up to 4 years in state prison.

 

latest news

April 7, 2022
What Can I Expect After Being Arrested for a DUI in California?
A DUI charge is a severe criminal offense in California. DUI arrests take away a massive part of your driving privilege and could tarnish your reputation. Prior DUI convictions can inflict further damage to your career opportunities, driving rights, and immigration status. This blog will go over what you must expect when facing DUI charges. [...]
April 7, 2022
How Long Does a DUI Stay on Your Record in California?
DUI cases may stay on your criminal record forever. The United States sees DUI as a serious traffic crime punishable with grave penalties. Fighting your way through a DUI case is a challenging task. But, it doesn't mean you can't do anything about it. There are legal options available for you, depending on the nature [...]
April 6, 2022
Arrested for DUI in California: Am I Going to Lose My Job?
You've been charged with a DUI and have no idea what to do next. A lot of worries may run through your mind, including the fear of losing your job. Many aspects of a DUI charge can be overwhelming to a person, even to those familiar with California Law. In this blog, we will discuss [...]