Woodside Elementary Teacher Acquitted in Child Molestation case (CA Penal Code 288)

Woodside Elementary Teacher Acquitted in Child Molestation case (CA Penal Code 288)

Rabin Nabizadeh
August 14, 2014

Hardly anyone would argue that the sexual molestation of a child  should not be a punishable offense (CA Penal Code 288). But, what happens when these charges have been falsely levied against you?  Not only would that mean a significant number of wasted years in jail while your life on the outside slips away from you minute by minute, but it also means lifetime registration as a sex offender, one of the harshest punishments of all.  Yet, this is exactly what happened to 46-year-old instructor (name withheld in order to protect the privacy of the accused), who used to teach both 4th and 5th grade at Woodside Elementary School.  He had been a trusted and revered member of the Mt. Diablo Unified School District since the early 1990s, but he was arrested last year on trumped up charges; they said he molested some of the children he worked with.

Now, he has been acquitted of all charges (which at one point added up to over 100 separate counts!).  How could something like this have happened to a clearly innocent man?  The simple fact is that even though there are real cases in which trusted adults molest children, sometimes adults are wrongly accused and end up suffering the same consequences anyway.  He still stands accused of 5 counts of child molestation; his recent trial (which ended in a hung jury) only covered 95 cases against him, ones where he was supposed to have molested children as young as 11 and as old as 17.  He is still fighting to fully clear his name and insists that his actions (patting children on the chest) was simply a way of calming down some students with behavior disorders, a common practice.  Had he been convicted of even one count of child molestation, he would have had to face up to 8 years in state prison (and up to 16 years if a pattern of abuse could have been proved) and a strike under the California Three Strikes Law.

 

latest news

April 7, 2022
What Can I Expect After Being Arrested for a DUI in California?
A DUI charge is a severe criminal offense in California. DUI arrests take away a massive part of your driving privilege and could tarnish your reputation. Prior DUI convictions can inflict further damage to your career opportunities, driving rights, and immigration status. This blog will go over what you must expect when facing DUI charges. [...]
April 7, 2022
How Long Does a DUI Stay on Your Record in California?
DUI cases may stay on your criminal record forever. The United States sees DUI as a serious traffic crime punishable with grave penalties. Fighting your way through a DUI case is a challenging task. But, it doesn't mean you can't do anything about it. There are legal options available for you, depending on the nature [...]
April 6, 2022
Arrested for DUI in California: Am I Going to Lose My Job?
You've been charged with a DUI and have no idea what to do next. A lot of worries may run through your mind, including the fear of losing your job. Many aspects of a DUI charge can be overwhelming to a person, even to those familiar with California Law. In this blog, we will discuss [...]