Mountain View Man Arrested for Selling Stolen Property (CA Penal Code 496)

Mountain View Man Arrested for Selling Stolen Property (CA Penal Code 496)

Rabin Nabizadeh
June 8, 2015

Oftentimes, when property is stolen, law enforcement officials encourage victims to search for their items in pawn shops and on online venues.  For one set of homeowners, a Craigslist search proved fruitful in this respect.  After a delivered package was stolen from a home in Palo Alto (a new awning for the very porch it was taken from), the owner decided to try to find his property, valued at about $250.  Upon hearing about the advertisement, local police set up a sting operation designed to get the perpetrator to sell the item to an officer.  It worked; the 39-year old Mountain View man was arrested after attempting to sell the stolen property to a law enforcement officer and on various drug possession charges.

California Penal Code 496 (termed ‘Receiving Stolen Property’) addresses various crimes related to the possession, sale, or receipt of stolen property.  Any individual who is caught receiving, buying, hiding, or selling stolen property could be prosecuted under this section of the law.  Additionally, prosecutors must be able to prove that a) the property in question was, indeed, stolen; b) the person attempting to sell the stolen property should have reasonably known that the property was stolen; and c) the person is actually in possession of these stolen goods.

This crime is what is known as a ‘wobbler,’ meaning that it is up to the prosecutors handling the case to determine whether to treat it as a misdemeanor or as a felony.  Usually, this decision is made on the basis of the value of the property.  In other words, if the property in question is valued at over $400, then prosecutors will likely treat it as a felony; if it is valued at under $400, they will likely treat it as a misdemeanor.  If a violation of CA PC 496 is treated as a misdemeanor, penalties include up to 1 year in county jail and a $1,000 fine.  However, if the violation is treated as a felony, a convicted individual may expect to spend up to 3 years in county jail and pay a $10,000 fine.

 

latest news

April 7, 2022
What Can I Expect After Being Arrested for a DUI in California?
A DUI charge is a severe criminal offense in California. DUI arrests take away a massive part of your driving privilege and could tarnish your reputation. Prior DUI convictions can inflict further damage to your career opportunities, driving rights, and immigration status. This blog will go over what you must expect when facing DUI charges. [...]
April 7, 2022
How Long Does a DUI Stay on Your Record in California?
DUI cases may stay on your criminal record forever. The United States sees DUI as a serious traffic crime punishable with grave penalties. Fighting your way through a DUI case is a challenging task. But, it doesn't mean you can't do anything about it. There are legal options available for you, depending on the nature [...]
April 6, 2022
Arrested for DUI in California: Am I Going to Lose My Job?
You've been charged with a DUI and have no idea what to do next. A lot of worries may run through your mind, including the fear of losing your job. Many aspects of a DUI charge can be overwhelming to a person, even to those familiar with California Law. In this blog, we will discuss [...]