Woman Accused of Assault with Deadly Weapon on 4-Year-Old Girl in San Jose (CA Penal Code 245(a)(1))

Last Modified: October 14, 2020
May 14, 2014 | Rabin Nabizadeh | Assault with a Deadly Weapon

San Jose police report that 18-year-old (name withheld in order to protect the privacy of the accused), an allegedly homeless woman, walked into a San Jose Walmart on Story Road and began hitting a 4-year-old little girl with a crowbar.  The child’s father reports that he was simply shopping with his daughter when the aforementioned woman suddenly came at his daughter with the weapon.  He managed to stop the assailant before she hit his daughter more than once.  There is still speculation as to why she committed the crime at all, but she has been booked into Santa Clara County jail on charges of assault with a deadly weapon.

In California, assault with a deadly weapon with the intent of injuring someone greatly is addressed in (CA Penal Code 245(a)(1)).  Generally, this crime is what is known as a ‘wobbler,’ meaning that it is at the prosecutor’s discretion to put forth misdemeanor or felony charges.  This all depends on the type of weapon that is used in the particular assault.  For example, many things that we would not think of as deadly weapons could, under the right circumstance, be considered a ‘deadly weapon,’ like beer bottles, pencils, and even a vehicle.  In fact, pretty much anything could be considered a deadly weapon, with the exception of a person’s hands, feet, or other parts of the body.

Her case is a bit more ‘cut and dry’ than many California ADW instances as she allegedly used a crowbar to hit a small child.  If she is convicted of a misdemeanor ADW charge, she faces $10,000 in fines, 1 year in county jail, possible anger management classes, and community service.  However, if she is convicted of a felony ADW, then she will meet with harsher treatment: $10,000 in fines, up to 4 years in state prison, and a strike on her record.

 

latest news

February 6, 2024
What Can I Expect After Being Arrested for a DUI in San Jose?

Getting arrested for a DUI in San Jose can be a stressful and confusing experience. You might have many questions about what happens next and what you should do. Knowing the process and what to expect can help you navigate this challenging situation. It’s important to remember that a DUI arrest is severe, and the […]

February 6, 2024
Effective DUI Defenses You Can Utilize

Facing a DUI charge can be a burdensome experience and frightening. You might feel like there’s no way to defend yourself, but that’s not true. There are several effective defenses that skilled DUI lawyers use to protect their clients. Understanding these defenses can be crucial in fighting a DUI charge. DUI defenses vary depending on […]

October 10, 2023
Do You Lose Your License Immediately After a DUI Charge in San Jose?

Driving under the influence (DUI) is a major offense in San Jose. If you’ve been arrested for a DUI, you might be worried about the future of your driver’s license. Following a DUI arrest, you might be wondering what to do next. Knowing your rights and the next steps can significantly impact the outcome of […]