Woman Hospitalized After Bayview District Hit-And-Run (CA Vehicle Code §20002)

Last Modified: February 20, 2024
July 16, 2013 | Rabin Nabizadeh | Gross Vehicular Manslaughter, Hit and Run, Vehicular Homicide

An unnamed woman (59) sustained serious injuries after a hit-and-run on Third Street close to Revere Avenue in the Bayview neighborhood.  Local law enforcement officials are still looking for the driver of a dark sedan that drove away after the incident.  The woman who was hit was immediately sent to San Francisco General Hospital where she was treated for internal injuries; her current status is unknown.

Under California law, a person may be charged with either misdemeanor hit-and-run or felony hit-and run (CA Vehicle Code §20002).  In order to be accused of a misdemeanor hit-and-run, you must have left the scene of an accident without having identified yourself and have damaged property during the course of the incident.  Thus, misdemeanor hit-and-run charges are based on the damaging of property.

However, felony hit-and-run charges are based, not on property damage, but on injury.  If you are involved in a vehicular accident in which someone else was either injured or killed – and you left the scene without identifying yourself – then you could be charged with a California felony hit-and-run.  Depending on the seriousness of the injuries, for example, the person who caused the unnamed 59-year-old pedestrian to be admitted to the hospital will face strict penalties and fines.

Even a misdemeanor hit-and-run conviction means the possibility of 6 months in jail, 2 points on your driving record, and a maximum fine of $1,000.   Felony charges of this kind mean from 3-4 years in state prison and up to a $10,000 fine.  In the case of the driver of the dark sedan, the individual is likely to be charged with a felony hit-and-run and, because of the serious nature of the woman’s injuries, would, if convicted, likely end up spending 4 years in jail.

latest news

February 27, 2024
What to Do if You’ve Been Arrested for a DUI in San Jose
Being arrested for a DUI in San Jose, CA, can have severe penalties, potentially resulting in jail time, losing your driver's license, and other serious consequences. Here's what to do if facing a DUI conviction after being accused of driving over the legal limit and how a California DUI lawyer can help you resolve your case with [...]
February 25, 2024
What Happens When You Get a DUI?
Getting a DUI (Driving Under the Influence) can be a stressful and life-changing event. It starts the moment a law enforcement officer suspects you've been drinking and driving. This can lead to being pulled over, undergoing a field sobriety test, and possibly being arrested. The consequences of a DUI arrest include legal action, potential jail [...]
February 6, 2024
What Can I Expect After Being Arrested for a DUI in San Jose?

Getting arrested for a DUI in San Jose can be a stressful and confusing experience. You might have many questions about what happens next and what you should do. Knowing the process and what to expect can help you navigate this challenging situation. It’s important to remember that a DUI arrest is severe, and the […]