8 Year Old Robbed in S.F. Western Addition (CA Penal Code 211)

Last Modified: October 13, 2020
July 16, 2014 | Rabin Nabizadeh | Robbery, Theft

Lots of kids make extra money for school trips, teams, or projects by selling candy of all kinds.  Parents may think differently of allowing their children to do this without adult supervision in the future after a young girl (8) was robbed of her and her classmates candy money in Western Addition.  It seems that it was a woman (40-50 years old) who took the sack of cash from the girl.  She allegedly asked the young girl for change so that she could ride the bus, then twisted the girl’s arm until she let go of the bag, which fell to the ground.  Then, the woman escaped with the money onto a nearby bus.  The culprit has yet to be identified.

In California, the crime of robbery is distinguished from the crime of burglary in the sense that a true ‘robbery’ requires that property must be taken directly from a person (instead of, for example, their home or business).  According to California Penal Code 211, robbery is a felony offense and is not a ‘wobbler.’  Additionally, it doesn’t matter what the value of the property is; the penalties are the same.  In this case, law enforcement officials have not released information concerning the amount of cash stolen from the 8-year-old girl, but whether it was $1 or $100, if the woman who took it is apprehended and convicted, she will still face felony charges.

Even though robbery charges are always felony charges, sentencing is dependent on whether you are considered to have committed first degree or second degree robbery.  First degree robbery is the more serious charge of the two.  It requires that you robbed either a person or persons in a vehicle, home, or at an ATM.  In that instance, you may face anywhere from 6-9 years in state prison, depending on the circumstances.  Second degree robbery, however, is what the woman who took the candy money will be arrested for, and the penalties are less harsh, up to 5 years in state prison.

 

latest news

February 6, 2024
What Can I Expect After Being Arrested for a DUI in San Jose?

Getting arrested for a DUI in San Jose can be a stressful and confusing experience. You might have many questions about what happens next and what you should do. Knowing the process and what to expect can help you navigate this challenging situation. It’s important to remember that a DUI arrest is severe, and the […]

February 6, 2024
Effective DUI Defenses You Can Utilize

Facing a DUI charge can be a burdensome experience and frightening. You might feel like there’s no way to defend yourself, but that’s not true. There are several effective defenses that skilled DUI lawyers use to protect their clients. Understanding these defenses can be crucial in fighting a DUI charge. DUI defenses vary depending on […]

October 10, 2023
Do You Lose Your License Immediately After a DUI Charge in San Jose?

Driving under the influence (DUI) is a major offense in San Jose. If you’ve been arrested for a DUI, you might be worried about the future of your driver’s license. Following a DUI arrest, you might be wondering what to do next. Knowing your rights and the next steps can significantly impact the outcome of […]