Driver Arrested on Felony Hit and Run Charges in The Tenderloin (CA Vehicle Code 20001)

Rabin Nabizadeh
July 30, 2014

In California, law enforcement officials take hit-and-run charges very seriously.  Just ask 25-year-old driver (name withheld in order to protect the privacy of the accused), who stole a minivan, crashed into a taxi cab during a police chase, and injured at least 6 people in the process.  He is now facing 10 felony charges, ranging from 6 hit-and-run charges (one for each person he hit), 1 charge of falsification of a license plate, 1 grand theft auto charge, and 2 charges for reckless driving.

Any one of the above crimes could be considered a felony according to California law.  Falsifying a license plate, sticker, or vehicle registration falls under California Vehicle Code 4463.  According to this provision, even interfering with a license plate (it is assumed that he removed it from the stolen van) is considered fraud. It is a ‘wobbler,’ meaning that you may be charged with either a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the circumstances of your particular situation.  On this felony charge alone, he could face up to 3 years in state prison and a $10,000 fine.

The state of California has made hit-and-run charges a felony. If there has been an injury or death involved during the commission of this crime (CA Vehicle Code 20001).  If convicted on a felony hit-and-run charge, he could face up to 3 years in a California state prison for each count and another $10,000 fine.  A grand theft auto conviction  (CA Penal Code 487(d)(1) and CA Vehicle Code 10851) also a ‘wobbler,’ could mean that he may spend up to another 3 years in state prison.  This means that if he is convicted on all counts that he has been charged with, he could end up spending approximately 24 years (or more)  in state prison and tens of thousands of dollars before he is eventually released.

 

latest news

October 5, 2022
9 Steps in a Criminal Defense Case

If you’re in a situation where you are facing criminal charges, the criminal process can be confusing. The justice system has specific steps they follow. Whether federal or state, the prosecuting attorney has the challenge of proving guilt beyond a reasonable doubt. That means obtaining an attorney from a reputable law firm that understands the […]

October 5, 2022
How Much Is a DUI in California?

A little night out with your friends is fine. A little sip of party bourbon won’t cause anyone any trouble. However, when all that little moments of sipping drinks add up, it could end up in a disaster. Dealing with a DUI conviction is not easy, and it could even cost you thousands of penalty […]

October 4, 2022
When Is It Considered Domestic Violence

Domestic violence is the attempt to gain power over and control another human within the household through a wide range of abusive behavior. Domestic violence can happen to anyone, regardless of race, sex, sexual orientation, class, education, etc. It often involves physical abuse, and other types of abuse as well. Abusive relationships are too common, […]