Richmond High School Student Charged with Sales of Marijuana to Minors Pot Brownies (CA Health and Safety Code 11361)

Richmond High School Student Charged with Sales of Marijuana to Minors Pot Brownies (CA Health and Safety Code 11361)

Rabin Nabizadeh
September 4, 2014

Bake sales are a common occurrence, even at the high school level.  They are often used to raise money for some school project or another.  However, one girl may have taken the idea too far.  An unnamed 17-year-old senior at De Anza High School in Richmond found herself charged with distribution of drugs on a school campus and child endangerment.  Supposedly, she sold pot brownies to her fellow students for $3 each or 2 for $5.  3 of them experienced nausea and vomiting and 2 were taken to the hospital in an ‘unresponsive’ state, according to officials.

California drug laws are severe when it comes to educational institutions and the distribution of drugs to minor children.  CA Health and Safety Code 11361 covers sale of marijuana to a minor.  However, that law applies only when the seller is over the age of 18; the girl in question is still a minor herself, according to law.  If she were an adult, she would face up to 7 years in state prison, depending on the age of the minor that the drugs were sold to.

There are separate laws, moreover, for possession of marijuana on school grounds (especially while school is in session).  If you are caught with 28.5 grams of marijuana or less on school grounds while the educational institution in question is still open, then you could face misdemeanor charges, 10 days in county jail, and a $250 fine.  If the amount you are caught with is over 28.5 grams, then your sentence could go up to 6 months and your fine to $500.  This senior may have thought it was a fun idea to sell her baked goods on campus, but she faces expulsion in addition to criminal charges.

 

latest news

April 7, 2022
What Can I Expect After Being Arrested for a DUI in California?
A DUI charge is a severe criminal offense in California. DUI arrests take away a massive part of your driving privilege and could tarnish your reputation. Prior DUI convictions can inflict further damage to your career opportunities, driving rights, and immigration status. This blog will go over what you must expect when facing DUI charges. [...]
April 7, 2022
How Long Does a DUI Stay on Your Record in California?
DUI cases may stay on your criminal record forever. The United States sees DUI as a serious traffic crime punishable with grave penalties. Fighting your way through a DUI case is a challenging task. But, it doesn't mean you can't do anything about it. There are legal options available for you, depending on the nature [...]
April 6, 2022
Arrested for DUI in California: Am I Going to Lose My Job?
You've been charged with a DUI and have no idea what to do next. A lot of worries may run through your mind, including the fear of losing your job. Many aspects of a DUI charge can be overwhelming to a person, even to those familiar with California Law. In this blog, we will discuss [...]